Britney Spears: The Blackout Album Megamix Released

The Blackout Megamix has been uploaded to my channel. This was the mix for March and it was both a fun and stressful one to do.

I had only listened to Blackout in its entirety a couple months ago. I didn’t want to buy into the hype, but I did and it easily became my fave Brit album. So I really wanted to do this album justice and make a good mix for it. The audio wasn’t too much trouble to do, but the video posed some problems.

Britney didn’t promote Blackout as much as she did her other albums due to her personal problems, so there is a significant lack of footage. When I do album mixes, I usually have three or four good videos to work with, along with tour footage, interviews, commercials, live performances, behind the scenes extras, maybe even a documentary. For this era, all ¬†I had to work with were three videos — a decent one, a cartoon and one of Britney sleepily dancing around a pole — a 2006 interview with Matt Lauer, some lousy recordings¬†of her House of Blues tour, and the rest is paparazzi footage.

So I took some liberties and used the Radar video and Circus and Piece of Me tour performances of Blackout songs. I feel like I still kept the spirit of the era and how chaotic it was for Britney.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy the mix and thanks for listening to it.

Favorite Song: Ooh Ooh Baby

There are so many songs on the album that I love, but I think Ooh Ooh Baby tops it for me. I love the sampling of The Turtles “Happy Together” and just the overall feel of the song. It’s more pop-py than anything on the record, but it’s also got that subtle vulgar sexuality that Britney does so well, especially on Blackout. Freakshow, Piece of Me, Break the Ice, and Toy Soldier are close seconds.

Favorite Video: Gimme More, I guess

Piece of Me is the most complete video of the era’s trio, but I like the atmosphere of Gimme More better, even though Brit looks asleep and bored through most of it. The original storyline the video had was provocative and I think I’m more intrigued by what this video could have been, rather than what it is. And I always dig Brunetteney.