Britney Spears: The Greatest Hits My Prerogative Album Extended Megamix . . . (deep breath) . . . is out now!

Whoa, that title is a mouthful. It’s about as long as the video is.

So this is the mix I’ve been working on for September. It’s only a week late, but that was due to personal issues during the month. Anyway, it’s finally done and uploaded. The short version should be done sometime this week,

britney_spears___greatest_hits__my_prerogative_by_loudtalk-d5e48rk

I really do love doing Britney mixes and I’m always excited when I get to do an album mix of hers. I knew I wanted to do her Greatest Hits album before doing Blackout for a number of reasons. One, I feel like I’ve gotten much better at mixing, both audio and video since I first did the Baby One More Time album. So I wanted to try my hand again at mixing some songs from previous albums. And two, the Greatest Hits album for me marks the end of an era, not only for Britney, but for me as a Britney fan.

Britney-2004-britney-spears-6831366-424-576

 

Once her troubles started even as early on as 2004 (which the video shows a bit of ), I started paying less attention to her and sort of grew out of my Britney fascination phase. A lot of my love for Britney is actually a nostalgic love of Britney 1998-2004. I never quite got back on the bandwagon for her even after Circus and Femme Fatale. To be honest, I’ve never listened to the Circus and Femme Fatale albums all the way through. And I only just recently listened to Blackout. So from here on out, I’ll be exploring the Britney albums for the first time while also mixing them. Anyway, I knew I had to do her Greatest Hits album because it defined the end of my nostalgia Britney era and I couldn’t pass it up.

51CJX1TZ2FL

About the mix: I tried to incorporate other songs from the albums as well. “Don’t Go Knocking on My Door” is featured on “Lucky,” “What It’s Like to Be Me” is featured in “Sometimes,” “The Answer” is featured in “Boys.” I think for the Singles Collection mix, I’ll try to do more of that. The mix does features a verse and a chorus of most songs — ballads and songs like “Outrageous” and “I love Rock n Roll” got shortchanged, but I don’t think anyone will mind. Also, the fonts for the song titles are the fonts for the album the song is from. I also made my own single cover for “You Drive Me Crazy” because I think the original is pretty lame.

Just . . . lame

Just . . . lame

And that’s about it. The short version will be out sometime this weekend hopefully. Fingers crossed. I plan to do the Blackout mix around March or so. Maybe between now and then, just for fun, I’ll do a mix of B In The Mix, but who knows? And I will let you know what’s coming up for the month of October as soon as I get started on it.

 

I will give you a hint . . .

Favorite Britney Song (so far): That’s hard, but honestly, I think “Baby One More Time” will always be my favorite Britney single. I’ve already put my love for the song on my Baby One More Time album review. I just wish there were better remixes of the song.”Slave” and “Toxic” come close.

Favorite Britney Video (so far): Ooh, that’s difficult. I know which Britney videos I don’t like, but it’s really difficult to pick my favorite. I think it would have to be Toxic though. It’s sexy, iconic, and just really damn good. Brit knocked it out of the park.

P.S. I also made a Baby One More Time/Overprotected mashup. I’ve made other Britney mashups and will probably release them here and there if I haven’t uploaded anything in a while.

