2013 Chart Toppers Megamix

I feel like this particular megamix deserved a Slowpoke meme

It is finally done. I have been working on this mix since the middle of December, hoping it would be finished by mid-January. However, I didn’t anticipate that this would be one of the hardest mixes I’ve ever done. I think it’s just that there were so many possibilities, so many songs that could be included. It’s easier to do a single artist or single album mix, but trying to create a mix that adequately showcases the hit songs of a single year was more than I bargained for, I guess. This isn’t even remotely the same mix that I posted in the preview. I redid this thing about four or five times and eventually, I just figured it was as good as it was going to get.

So I’m glad to be done with it just as much as I’m glad to be done with 2013 and moving forward. I’m still working on that Lady Gaga extended mix (my deadline for it is April, fingers crossed) along with a few other mixes that got pushed to the background so I could finish this one in time. Another preview will be coming up soon!

Favorite Song of the Year: Royals, by Lorde

I really love this song and even though it is vastly overplayed, I still like it. I like the simplicity of the instrumental, the tone of her voice, the lyrics and the enunciation of certain phrases. The album, Pure Heroine, as a whole is pretty meh, since it’s just an album full of Royals, but songs like Tennis Court and Team are standouts. Hopefully, she’ll be the fun. of this year, and not the Gotye.

Honorable Mentions: 

Suit and Tie, Justin Timberlake

Cups, Anna Kendrick

Slow Down, Selena Gomez

Little Talks, Of Monsters and Men

Favorite Video of the Year: Thrift Shop, by Macklemore

Easily a top contender for my fave song, but the video is just as fun. As a Utah girl, I get college D.I. flashbacks every time I watch it, but they’re fun memories. The song and video added a spice of carefree spirit into a summer that got bogged down by ballads like “When I Was Your Man,” “Just Give Me a Reason” and “Stay.”

Honorable Mentions

Applause, Lady Gaga

Work Bitch, Britney Spears

I Love It, Icona Pop

Unconditionally, Katy Perry

Least Favorite Song of the Year: Heart Attack, by Demi Lovato

I really want to like Demi Lovato, but not when she screams at me and the chorus of this song is just that. Give Your Heart a Break was one of my favorites from 2012, but Heart Attack (and the new Neon Lights) are steps in the wrong direction for her. This song is unbearable for me to listen to — from the overly processed vocals in the beginning to that chorus to the lyrics in general. It’s not catchy and it’s not a nice sounding song, overall. It’s just noise.

Dishonorable Mentions:

Let Her Go, Passenger

Daylight, Maroon 5

Roar, Katy Perry

Timber, Pitbull ft. Ke$ha

Least Favorite Video of the Year: Blurred Lines, Robin Thicke

I flip-flop on whether I like or loathe this song, but, for certain, I hate this video. I almost put Roar on here for the sheer cheesiness of it, but at least Roar was somewhat interesting to watch. This video is plain and boring, no matter how many naked girls you put in it. Separating the song from it, this video is just downright unsexy. It’s all in beige and white with nothing really going on combined with giant hashtags every other minute. I hope this isn’t the video that becomes synonymous with the early 2010’s. It would be a shame.

Dishonorable Mentions:

Roar, Katy Perry

Wake Me Up, Avicii

Wrecking Ball, Miley Cyrus

Cruise, Florida Georgia Line

 

 

